HobbyHouse and V&A at Dundee

Connecting communities creatively by raising awareness of design and craft is Karen Lyttle’s aim through HobbyHouse, and now she is about to pop-up in our capital city…

In partnership with V&A at Dundee, recent DJCAD graduate Karen will be introducing HobbyHouse at ‘DesignMarket’ taking place in the Fruitmarket Gallery from Friday 13th to Sunday 15th July. HobbyHouse is a portable multi-functional pop-up pavilion, which will be showcasing and enabling people to share their views on the V&A at Dundee project developments.

DesignMarket will be promoting a number of Scottish artists and makers by creating a platform to sell work in the filled galleries over the weekend; also providing the chance to browse their lovely book selection and nibble on some treats in their excellent cafe!

It’s great to see V&A at Dundee support this event and partner with Karen, who has been reaching out to communities creatively through her final year work with HobbyHouse; you can read Creative Dundee’s previous blog post about her work here.

Director of the V&A at Dundee, Philip Long is also chuffed, “We are delighted to be working with graduate talent such as HobbyHouse; this sort of collaboration helps the development of V&A at Dundee and gives an opportunity to a young designer to be involved”.

Well done indeed Karen, nice work!  You can follow Karen Lyttle’s adventures: www.hobbyhousedundee.wordpress.com and on twitter: @_hobbyhouse

The full list of participants for DesignMarket 2012 includes:

Fiona Robertson www.fiorobbosblog.blogspot.co.uk
Katie Charleson www.katiecharleson.com
Aubeebop Jewellery by Aubin Stewart http://www.aubeebopjewellery.com/
ACJ Edinburgh www.edinburghacj.wordpress.com
Catalog Ltd www.cataloginteriors.com
Doodabbery www.etsy.com/shop/doodabbery
Birds of Prayers www.facebook.com/Birds.of.Prayers
Jeni Allison Knitwear www.jeniallison.posterous.com
Little Red www.little-red-shop.com (Fri + Sat only)
Liz Tainsh www.abstractphoto.co.uk/
Louise Smurthwaite www.louisesmurthwaite.co.uk
Lucy MacLeod & Dwayne Bell Illustration www.lucymacleod.co.uk www.dwayne-bell.com
Mina Braun www.minabraun.com
Catherine Hiley www.cahiley.com
Emily Hogarth www.emilyhogarth.com
Cora Studio www.corababy.co.uk
Small Stories by Gabrielle Reith www.g-r-a.co.uk/small
Namon Gaston www.namongaston.com
Rapa Nui Gallery www.rapanuigallery.co.uk
Sheila Boyle Designs www.sheilaboyle.blogspot.co.uk
The Lindström Effect www.thelindstromeffect.co.uk
V&A at Dundee www.VandAatDundee.com
Verity Keniger www.veritykeniger.co.uk
Ziggy Sawdust www.ziggy-sawdust.blogspot.co.uk
Rebecca J Kaye www.rebeccajkaye.com
SodaKitsch www.sodakitsch.com
made with love by mrs booth www.mrsbooth.com
Matthew Carey Simos www.matthewcareysimos.com
Blair Sorley www.blairsorley.com
Tessuti www.tessutiscotland.co.uk
PickOne www.pickone.co.uk
Yoke www.weareyoke.com
Rosie Walters www.rosie-walters.com (Fri + Sat only)
Sara Keith www.sarakeith.com
Robbie Porter www.robbieporter.co.uk
Kina Gorska www.kinagorska.wix.com/design
Hole in my Pocket www.holeinmypocket.com
Fiona Luing Jewellery www.fionaluing.co.uk
Emma Lindsay www.emmajanelindsay.com/ (Sun only)
Emily MacKenzie www.emilymackenzieillustrations.blogspot.co.uk
Lizzie Cameron www.inkcircus.co.uk