Creative Dundee

SZ+DAY 2015 Design Award

The Shenzhen Design Award for Young Talents is now open to all cities within the UNESCO Creative Cities Network, including young designers who work within Dundee, UNESCO City of Design. Check out the call and apply before 5th October 2015.

Shenzhen City of Design Promotion Office and Shenzhen City of Design Promotion Association invite you to participate in this competition which recognises successful or potential young designers from creative cities and Hong Kong.

The purpose of the Award is to reward the efforts of young designers, who, through their creativity, have contributed to the enhancement of environmental sustainability, social and economic development and, above all, quality of lives in cities.

The Award aims to encourage exchange between young talents from different countries, cooperation between creative cities, and the sharing of experiences and ideas for developing creative and cultural industries. The Award also aims to promote the value of design thinking, concepts and products as contributors to the transformation of economies and society.

The theme for 2015 is Transformation: the Mission of Design.

We’ve included the details of the call below, which has been taken from their website, but would advise that for full details, visit SZ+ Day 2015 Design Award’s website.


The Entrant can be an individual or a team. For an individual, his or her age should be under 35 by 31 December 2015. For a team, all members should be under 35 by 31 December 2015. For architects, the age limit is under 40 by 31 December 2015. For the student session, entrants should remain registered students in colleges or other educational institutions until 1 January 2015.

The entries must have actually been completed or produced and, in the cases of commercial products, have become available in markets between 1 January 2013 and 1 October 2015. Conceptual designs or designs that are still under development and/or have not yet been commercially launched, as well as show flats, prototypes, renderings and artists’ impressions of designs are only eligible as entries for the student session. All entrants must be natives of or have been living for at least 2 years in one of the UNESCO Creative Cities. The entries can only be submitted by the designer or the nominator. Each entrant can submit no more than 10 pieces of works. For series, there should be no more than 5 pieces for each serial.

Entries from all fields of design which contribute to the sustainable growth of cities are welcome to participate, including but not limited to:

Judging Criteria:

To Apply:

Once you have read/confirmed you are eligible to enter, please send details of the final products/services you would like to enter into the Award to Anna Day, UNESCO City of Design Dundee Manager.

Please include no more than 2 double sides of A4 paper detailing the design, with images and urls to your work/your practice. Please also include a copy of your CV. You can submit more than one entry to the Award.

Send your application either by email to Anna at: or by post to Leisure and Culture Dundee, Central Library, The Wellgate, Dundee, DD1 1DB.

The deadline for all entries to the Award is: 12 noon on Monday 5th October 2015.

At the request of the Award organisers, The UNESCO City of Design Dundee team will review all entries received and will shortlist entries to SZ+DAY 2015 Design Award which will be submitted before the final deadline (20th October 2015).



For Professionals –

Grand Award (maximum 1 winner)

30000 USD per winner

Merit Award (maximum 10 winners)

5000 USD per winner

For Students –

New Star Award (maximum 5 winners)

5000 USD per winner

Best Nominator (maximum 3 winners)

5000 USD per winner

This prize awards the nominator who provides the best supports and cooperation for this project,or who nominates.

Awarding Ceremony

To accept the prizes, winners of the Grand Award and Merit Award have to be present at the awarding ceremony. Flight tickets and three nights’ accommodations would be provided by SDPA.

All winners of New Star Award and one representative of each Best Nominator would be invited to attend the ceremony. Flight tickets and three nights’ accommodations would be provided.


For full details of the Award, visit:




Title here